Time to catch up, and use up.

I don’t know about you, but I have lots of small to medium pieces in my studio that I fired and have never used.  Maybe a pair of earrings where one piece didn’t work out, or leftover pieces that simply never made it into the final creation.  I have accumulated so many over the last few years that I’ve made an early New Year’s Resolution.  I won’t make anything new until I’ve found a way to creatively use up at least half of what I have lying around.  I’m not talking about just putting together charm bracelets for the sake of using up some pieces, I’m talking about really trying to think up some new designs, with the constraint of having to use pieces you already have.  Kinda like when an painter restricts herself to a limited palatte.  Today, I took two pieces of sea glass that I had previous wire wrapped and not used, and a piece of sterling wire that I had bent into a strange shape for a pair of earring I later took apart.  Here’s what I came up with.

I really like the unusual hanging style, and the fact that they hang separately, but somehow balance.
I really like the unusual hanging style, and the fact that they hang separately, but somehow balance.

I’ve wanted to use the sea glass piece for a while.  It was unusual, with striations across it that even created a star shape on the top.

Here’s another pic:

You can see the clear sea  glass better here.
You can see the clear sea glass better here.

Send me pics of what you create and I’ll post them on this blog – I promise.

Happy creating!

One thought on “Time to catch up, and use up.

  1. Nicely done! We’ve had a discussion going on for a while in one of the Linked In groups about imperfections and what that means in art, and more than one person has felt that “making a mistake” is often stumbling upon a new creative opportunity. You definitely have, and I especially like those stones set against the sand. Great contrast!

Leave a Reply

