There is Hope for the “Uglies” – A Month of Recycling Continues

OK, I’m going to go out on a limb and really trust you guys here.  I am about to show you the worst pair of earrings I ever made.  They are so very bad, I could not bring myself to take a picture of both of them together — it was simply too much ugliness for one post.  Feel free to cover your eyes:  I don’t know what was worse, the off center holes on the bottom or the overall size of these gigundous earrings.

Please notice the excellent wire work and the delicacy of the 16 gauge bronze wire.
Please notice the excellent wire work and the delicacy of the 14 gauge bronze wire. (What was I thinking!)

I have stared at these earrings since I started this challenge.  I truly did not know what to do with these lovelies.  The only thing I liked was the fiddlehead fern design.  I definitely could not simply takes these apart and add new dangles and better wirewrapping – they were beyond such simple solutions.  Instead, I got out my Sharpie and my Kew saw and went to work.

Step one - take it apart to see how bad it is.
Step one – take it apart to see how bad it is.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If nothing else, this is an excellent lesson in why artists who work with metal clay need to also take a few good metalsmithing classes.

 

 

An hour later, after attacking these pieces with my saw, my metal file, sandpaper, and a drill press,

Step 2 - Make the cuts.
Step 2 – Make the cuts.

 

 

 

I ended up with two new pairs of earrings, some metal scrap for future use, and a few nicely balled up pieces of fine silver I can also use later.

 

 

 

It’s good to know there is hope for the “uglies” on my bench.

Two pair from One.
Two pair from One.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s a pic of one of the pairs – I think they were a success.

Soon to be in my shop!
Soon to be in my shop!
 

7 thoughts on “There is Hope for the “Uglies” – A Month of Recycling Continues

  1. Thank you so much for your post. I’ve been looking at a few of my experiments recently and wondering what in the world do I do with them. As I dismantle, saw and hammer, I’ll make sure to remember how proud of all of the uglies I was when I made them originally.

  2. OK, you just make me laugh out loud (I don’t LOL, I go ha ha ha!)
    You are great. glad we met! The ability to see the humor in your art is rare and should be celebrated!!! jean

  3. huge transformation! and ya got 2 from one set!!! that is thinking outside the box!!! I have pr of earrings made form geometric shapes of reticulated silver…they hang all wrong…I plan to separate the 2 pieces and see if I can make 2 pr as well…Your shared revelation of changing uglies to awesome has inspired me!!! thanks!

Leave a Reply

