What do you want from your art?

That question is really important for any instructor to know.  Do you want to learn to draw so you can impress others?  Do you want to sell your work?  Do you need a relaxing way to blow off steam?  Do you want to feel creative?  Do you just want to find out if you can do it?

I’m planning on teaching a zentangle/watercolor class soon to satisfy the needs of my friends and students who want a way to feel fulfilled artistically that is also relaxing.  They don’t need to create great works of art, or be recognized nationally for their talent — they just want the feeling we “artsy” people get when we are completely in “the zone” with our art.  The Zentangle part of the class is great for people who don’t think they can draw, and who don’t really want to take the time to learn.  (Although I firmly believe that almost anyone can learn.)  The watercolor part is to show students how they can get wonderful results with pen and ink drawings and watercolors.

I remember going on a garden tour, and there was a watercolorist painting the house and gardens.  Someone asked her how she did it, and she said, “Well you draw the house, and fill in the color!”  It seemed so simple to her and so difficult to the rest of us.

images (3)
This is a great example of a totally abstract zentangle.

Zentangles take away all the worry about drawing – they are whatever abstract shape you want them to be.

All you need is a fine tipped black pen and some plain paper.  Heck – you don’t even need plain paper since they also look really good on yellowed old book pages:

images (4)
They are really just elaborate doodles that M.C. Escher would be proud of.

My favorite technique by far is taking a shape, like a bird, and heart, etc, and filling it in with different zentangle shapes that sort of kinda recreate shapes of the original image.  In this piece, I took the basic bird shape drew in and then masked off the wing area, and used a huge old clock stamp that I had to decorate the body.  Then the watercolor fun began.  Watercolors are perfect for adding the extra shading that really makes the zentangle pop.

544391_10152758640985647_759295041_n   After my recent surgery, I had to wait a full week for test results which would determine my quality of life for the next year. Although I am primarily a metalsmith, for some reason I craved watercolors and black pens during this tension filled week — although now that I think about it, it may have had more to do with the Percoset I was taking!  Although the test results (which were wonderful) are in and my health issues resolved,   I still find myself drawn to this medium.  It relaxes and fulfills me and I really want to show my students just how enjoyable it can be.

I’ll post the date for the class soon, but until then, “google” the word zentangle and look at all the fantastic images you can create.

For Lewes locals, Barking Dog Gallery will be at the Women’s Fest Art Show this Saturday from 9-3pm.  Come out and see my latest jewelry creations, and give me some suggestions for dates for future classes.  Wanna do some shopping online, click here.

One thought on “What do you want from your art?

  1. I LOVE tangling. I took a class in MA before I moved here in May….. and just saw your article and description of a class you offered in April. Might you offer it again? I didn’t think tangling had come here, and am tickled to see that it has! Bunny Guerrin

Leave a Reply

