A week of Art … and beer.

So when my friend and fellow artist, Kandi Lippincott, invited me along for an Artist’s week at her timeshare in Hilton Head, I immediately accepted after hesitating only long enough to to pack a bathing suit, watercolors, pens, my pastels, two watercolor pads, two types of pastel board, a Bamboo pad, my computer, a small easel, three art magazines and one book on pastel art, plus two books of short stories . (Artist ADD is real my friends!).

The week was relaxing. Hilton Head beaches are some of my favorites, with just the right amount of waves with low tides that provide miles of wonderful hard sand beaches for riding bicycles.  We even had our own personal artist’s muse and model in the form of another guest whose name was, of course, Art.  Art had a face that made us all want to prop him up in the middle of the room with good lighting.

I snapped a sneaky pic of Art when his eyes were closed 1
I snapped a sneaky pic of Art when his eyes were closed 

Quick Pic of Art
Quick Pic of Art

The pic of Art was done with special pencils made to work with watercolor.  After sketching, just wet to spread the shading around, and then it is permenant and regular watercolors can be added.  Lots of fun to play with.

IMG_20130604_212046_418

 

Using more traditional watercolor techniques, I did this painting of a crane.  I am particularly pleased with my choices of quotes on this painting — one from Sadako (of the thousand paper cranes), one from Hart Crane, and one from Niles Crane!

IMG_20130605_130143_156
Can you find the small child in the middle of his creation?

 

 

 

Art was truly everywhere this past week, from the sand sculptures that looked like the opening scenes from Game of Thrones.

28 thoughts on “A week of Art … and beer.

  1. Very nice! I’m going to look for those pencils. All those sand sculptures are astounding and how worth all the trips to and from the water’s edge. Thank you!

  2. Donna! I had a fantastic chat with my mom last night, and it sounds like you all had an absolutely inspirational and glorious time. She and I haven’t talked at such length or in such a wonderfully meandering way in far too long. Thanks for being such a great friend. I am so happy to know that she is basking in beaches and art and friendship, as well she should be. I guess it’s time for all of the Hilton Head ladies to… uh… “do” Art. :)

  3. magnificent points altogether, you simply gained a new reader.
    What would you recommend about your publish
    that you simply made a few days in the past?
    Any certain?

  4. Nice post. I was checking continuously this
    blog and I am impressed! Extremely helpful info specifically the last part :) I care for
    such information much. I was seeking this particular info for
    a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  5. I’ve read several good stuff here. Definitely price bookmarking for revisiting.
    I surprise how much attempt you set to make this type of excellent informative
    web site.

  6. Steel cutting play vital role in metal industry and therefore, these companies use different techniques and tools for cutting structural steel,
    and the type of technique and tool you choose depends on the job.
    Some natural remedies will help whiten teeth, such as
    apple cider vinegar. The liquid dip will also work well for leaning any Tiffany Jewelry with diamonds.

  7. I’ve been exploring for a little for any high
    quality articles or blog posts in this sort of area .

    Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website.
    Studying this information So i am happy to show that I’ve a very just right uncanny feeling I
    discovered exactly what I needed. I such a lot undoubtedly will make sure to
    do not disregard this site and provides it a glance on a
    continuing basis.

  8. You’re so interesting! I don’t suppose I’ve truly read anything like that before.
    So wonderful to discover someone with original thoughts on this issue.
    Seriously.. thank you for starting this up. This site is one thing
    that is required on the web, someone with a little originality!

  9. If there is any sign that the person that is facing DUI charges is in denial or does not want to
    admit to their drinking problem, the judge will be unwilling to lift any charges and you may even face jail time.
    s important to determine whether law enforcement officials actually
    witnessed behavior that led them to believe the accused was driving under the influence.
    Do not hire a lawyer whose win percentage is low:
    You will find a lot of DUI attorneys who deal with a number of cases at
    the same time.

  10. DUI Defense lawyers put in all their efforts
    to secure light punishments or sometimes manage successful acquittals.
    When you have committed a crime and have been arrested there are several different court dates that you will
    have to attend. Drivers under age 21 represent 10% of licensed drivers but are
    involved in 17% of alcohol-related fatal crashes.

  11. Why it has gained so much importance in the lives of
    human beings. Chain auto body shops are more of an assembly-line atmosphere where more than one technician may work on one job and, therefore, they often hire technicians with only one experience level in paint,
    body, or frame repairs. Many mainstream auto body and paint
    repair techs hope to open a shop of their own someday.

  12. Obtain business liability insurance if you venture into this business.

    Many times on the newer vehicles, this condition will
    cause a check engine light, but is subject to the problem.
    Finally, keep in mind that most minimum liability policies will not cover the damage to your vehicle, only the other guy per se.

  13. It’s truly a nice and helpful piece of info.
    I’m glad that you simply shared this helpful information with us.
    Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  14. Hey! Someone in my Myspace group shared thiis website
    with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely loving
    the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!

    Terrific blog and brilliant design.

Leave a Reply

