Colors – I need more Colors!

I drew around the flower shaped design that was already on the paper.  I used a white gel pen to fill in the white sections.
I drew around the flower shaped design that was already on the paper. I used a white gel pen to fill in the white sections.

 

“Ink.  Paper.  Forget the world”  Shaun Hick

I have been in a black hole of my own making lately.  A few weeks ago, I decided to try again to play with the synthetic Yupo Paper that I had heard so much about on watercolor forums.  I wasn’t fond of using watercolors on the paper.  It bothers me that no matter how dry the watercolors may be, you can reactivate them and completely wash them from the surface of the paper.  God forbid  you are painting with a cold, and sneeze…

But I had heard that Alcohol Inks also worked well on the paper, and I had some of the inks just sitting on my bench so I gave it a try.  I dropped different colors over the paper, then laid a piece of Saran Wrap overtop of the Yupo paper.  The Saran Wrap served three purposes – it spread the inks thinly over the paper much better than any  brush and mixes the colors together, the textures of the Saran Wrap when crinkled over the top of the paper makes a great design with the ink, and the Saran Wrap keeps the ink from drying immediately.  Pull the Saran Wrap off quickly and the still wet colors blend back together slightly.  Leave the Saran Wrap on for a minute of two, and the crinkly design of the Saran Wrap remains distinct.

Initially, I only thought that the beautiful results could serve as unusual backgrounds for paintings.

A Plover.
A Plover.

 

 

I still love the using the technique to create unique backgrounds, but I entered into the art black hole when I realized what a black sharpie and some white ink could create.  Better than tell you, I will in the next few weeks show you a series of paintings. By the way, if you do not know, Yupo paper is a synthetic paper that does not absorb paint or ink, but allows the paint to sit on top of the paper.  Watercolors wash right off, but inks are fairly permanent and adhere better.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Colors – I need more Colors!

  1. Thanks for the information, I too have been in a black hole with my creativity and just received a pad of the paper, already had the inks…so you’ve inspired me to give it a go!

Leave a Reply

